With A Little Help From My Friends…

Hey Gamers,

As some of you may recall, my last couple of posts detailed my excitement for Super Smash Brothers on the 3DS, for a number of exciting reasons.

Like venting long time frustrations, as many have done before me.

THERE HE IS! GET HIM!

THERE HE IS! GET HIM!

Uh Huh….that’s right….who’s laughing now!?

WHO’S LAUGHING NOW?!

Wait, who said that?

OH SHI-

OH SHI-

I know in my heart of hearts, Ash will never join the roster of Super Smash Brothers, but never say never on dreams coming true, which is what I’m sure Nintendo has been thinking with the Wii U’s recent raise in popularity. This turn of events is indeed due to a better line up of games this year, but can most definitely be attributed to hype behind the soon to be released Smash Bros. I’ve observed expectations and excitement levels from even non Wii U owners as exceedingly high.

Seen Here: A Very Excited Room Full Of Smash Players Not Pictured: 3 Million Other Screaming Fans

Seen Here: A Very Excited Room Full Of Smash Players
Not Pictured: 8 Million Other Screaming Fans

I know some of you may be ready to point out that there aren’t 8 million people who own Wii U’s, but I have no doubt that Smash Brothers as a singular entity will help boost the consoles sales numbers immediately and consistently for years to come. Even beyond Smash Bros finally putting the Wii U on peoples radars, the games paired functionality with the Amiibo add-on Nintendo will release along side it is sure to be met with fanfare. Considering how insanely popular similar ideas have been that have come before it, I have little doubt that “The Pokémon Company” will have any trouble selling their brand like freshly baked crack cakes.

You Heard Me, Tyrone.

You Heard Me

I’m glad to see Nintendo finally turning their fortunes around this gen, and am even more excited that a new Smash Bros is so immediate in our futures. My time with Smash at E3 this year did not lead me astray, as the 3DS version has already done it’s job of wowing me. With the Wii U version having way more content, and even support for Gamecube controllers, I couldn’t be more excited for the Wii U version to finally drop…cause when it does, I’m going to channel my inner Toon Link and go Wind Waker on everyone involved…

And It's Gonna Get Real

And It’s Gonna Get Real

At least, that’s what I wish I could do, what I really want to do. See, I was really stoked I was able to pick up Smash 3DS when it first launched, and anyone who’s followed me for a longer time knows why. I had the misfortune of having my 3DS stolen on my birthday, which was considerably crappy. That would have been more than enough personal loss for one day to be bummed about, but my Vita was in the same bag my 3DS was in when it was nabbed by the slippery handed bastard who claimed it.

While I was rather immediately screwed and without my portable devices, I eventually scrounged up the resource to get a replacement 3DS, which was all well and good for awhile. My initial plan was to replace my 3DS first, as Smash Bros was a far more exciting prospect than anything the Vita had to offer at the end of this year. When Smash finally launched, I was pouring hours into the title, unlike any other game I had touched this year.

Sadly, and as is my luck, my replacement 3DS suffered water damage a mere 6 days after Smash launched, leaving me high and dry. To add insult to injury, my old laptop finally died the very same day my 3DS did, even leaving me without a convenient way to communicate my recent woes.

But Wait! There's More!

But Wait! There’s More!

Yeah, if that wasn’t enough, this consistent stream of lost technology started about a year ago, even before my birthday related bullshit, when I had lost my apartment in a flood (I live in the Boulder, Colorado area and it was a miserable place to be last September). I was forced to couch surf after I had lost my apartment, which I was thankful for as others weren’t quite as lucky.

During the time period I was staying at my friends place until I got back on my feet, a friend I had entrusted to temporarily store my 20 year game collection completely failed me, and ended up throwing it all away at a moments notice and without mention. Shortly after this awful moment in time when it seemed it couldn’t possibly get any worse, all three of my next gen consoles were stolen, a subject I had alluded to before on ATE but didn’t have the mood or energy to discuss, as it all represented a very dark time in my life.

I Know Those Feels My Twilight Sister

I Know Those Feels My Twilight Sister

So yeah, not a very cheery post, and one of the only ones I’ve written where I talk more about myself than video games, but that’s the truth of the matter. While Active Time Event will always stay non-profit, and I’ve never asked for any kind of help before, I recently started a gofundme at the urging of some of my friends who felt sympathy for my situation. While I know I can’t replace all of what I lost, as some of it was one of a kind and irreplaceable, I can at least reclaim my next gen systems, and enjoy what I have left.

I might be down, but I’m not out.

Gotta Keep On Fighting!

Gotta Keep On Fighting!

With a little help from my friends and some generous strangers, I’ve already raised a healthy portion of my $500 goal. While that money in it’s entirety isn’t enough to replace all of my next gen consoles that were stolen, I’m hoping I can use the sum to repair my 3DS, and more immediately reacquire my Wii U before November 21st, so I can play the game I’ve been looking forward to the most this year.

If you feel like helping, either as someone who’s been reading for awhile or someone who just wants to help out a fellow nerd in need, you can contribute to my gofundme page found below http://www.gofundme.com/gujc38. Any amount will help, and with enough luck and generosity from the gaming community, I’ll be able to regain my Wii U and Smash to my hearts content once more.

And to anyone who shares my story or contributes to my fund, you have my thanks.

My…

Falcon Thanks

~Pashford

Leave a comment

Filed under Active Time Event

Leave a Reply

