Rhetorical Encore

Hey Gamers,

My last couple posts, casually detailing the white noise  involving CoD comparisons, did their job in reminding me of a jarring truth.

Why This Picture May Represent Some People's Next Gen Experience

Why This Picture May Represent My Next Gen Experience

I know I have weird, often insular focuses on what’s going on. I usually focus on the biggest discussions in gaming, which ironically, normally involves the fewest number of people discussing them. This is more due to message boards, online communities and gaming press, representing such a small portion of video game culture at large, even when combined into a single group. In some sense, I have this division from the mass majority, the same group of people who thought the Xbox One reveal was exciting, thinks PC gaming requires a PhD, and who are unaware the Wii U is a video game console.

Then Again, I've Heard This Referred To As "The Nintendo", Which Didn't Seem To Have Much Of An Impact On The Consoles Success

Then Again, I’ve Heard This Device Referred To As “The Nintendo”, Which Didn’t Seem To Have Much Of An Impact On The Consoles Success

I’m partly to blame anyways. In the group of articles detailing these how trivial these events are, I’ve effectively taken focus off of other matters more worthwhile in discussion, which makes me a shitty hypocrite. I can only claim the power of self-awareness in this case of hypocrisy, which is more than I can say for some of the other lost souls drifting around in the virtual ether. I bring up “Resolutiongate” one last time, however, due to some delightful sense of rhetorical rhetoric, and how we all may truly be dangerously distanced from any form of non-virtual reality.

I know for anyone even remotely interested, and I will submit here that in all seriousness most of the Call of Duty fan base is not, we come to a confirmation of an obvious conclusion, the X1 version of Call of Duty: Ghosts  is not native 1080p, though the PS4 version is. You can imagine my surprise (see two hyperlinks ago), when Sony Germany tried removing all traces of their *honest declaration* that the PS4 version of Ghosts is indeed in 1080p. They removed the ad in due time, and I’m frightened to think of why. Some have speculated (and I’ll join in) that the original ad (see: mockery) of the X1, was merely a factual statement that has already been proven true, based on known technical limitations of the machine.

In essence, Sony Germany may have revoked a factual statement about their own tech, because it would make their competition look bad.

QUICK! TO THE LOGIC MOBILE!

QUICK! TO THE LOGIC MOBILE!

So am I to infer from this event, that in the realm of video games, a company can’t even state basic technical limitations of their machine vs another, because they might offend their competition because it’s a mean thing to do?

Imagine that phone conversation.

Microsoft Getting A Call From Sony About CoD

Microsoft Getting A Call From Sony About CoD: Ghosts

Sony Calling Microsoft About CoD

Sony Calling Microsoft About CoD: Ghosts

 The further I continue to fixate on this story, I don’t know if it becomes less or more fucking insane. I continue trying to tell myself, despite Microsoft’s stupid attempts of consumer dishonesty, that this should so be on some level a none issue. The further we go into this rabbit hole, the further we continue to fall deeper into madness. The sheer idea that the ad that removed by Sony about their own product was an objective fact, and that it may still cause problems, may fucking cement the point this industry is too far up it’s own ass for it’s own good. We are talking about measurable technology, honesty to people who should have the right to know, and that this should have never ever been an issue to begin with. Not that the resolution difference doesn’t matter, though the basic arguments seems shallow, it’s that pointing out this difference between the two and having any difficulty in doing so is the far more troubling aspect of this tale.

Which is possibly why I struggle to distance myself from the non-issue, because it has surprising efficiency in remaining problematic, and pissing off just the right people in the right numbers, to stay an issue. I may also be bothered by this, because on the surface level, we are talking about games that find their base in the shallow, immense accessibility key. We aren’t suppose to think about Call of Duty, that’s always been the point. We are simply suppose to “do” Call of Duty, the game representing the perfect distillation of gaming meets consumerism. At what fourth wall point off relevancy does this start to become a toxic way to view the subject at large, and what levels of respect does this implied triviality towards a  game that will make billions really mean in the grand scope of the medium?

Nintendo, Secretly Enjoying Eavesdropping On The CoD Conversation, Knowing This Is The Most Value They'll Get Out Of A Port of CoD: Ghosts

Nintendo, Secretly Enjoying Eavesdropping On The CoD Conversation, Knowing This Is The Most Value They’ll Get Out Of A Port of CoD: Ghosts

That may be where all the issues lie, why even going against my own rationale of showing the surface level pointlessness of this debate, I continue to try to see what’s causing the debate. This subtle sense of “something wrong”, and not thinking fourth dimensionally enough may be why I continue in analyzing this mangled sense of fascinating. I criticize the debate about the slight fidelity issues, based on the PC being the obvious out performer to begin with, and that the gap in quality for consoles is kind of absurd to begin with. However, I persist in pushing myself to care about what a lot of people may not be caring more about. Everything that has come to pass in causing this, once again obscures the real issue, which is obfuscation…the real issue.

Gamers, aware gamers, never forget that this is a business. The underlying issue here is that this fact will inevitably effect everyone, and is a relevant issue in previous thoughts I’ve had on the subject. Microsoft is salty because this CoD debate makes them look bad, and in this instance, looking bad costs money. My problem with this continued sense of information control and money grabbing, is the way it’s being handled. Microsoft is kind of getting away with, at least in the context of this debate, being irresponsible about an inferior product by lying about it. They’re trying to buy their way out of a problem, while lying about the money they’re using to do so. I guess one of the simplest ways to try and make my thoughts on the subject any more explicit, is how much discussion and money is happening over an HD resolution difference, in two games that are going to have the highest profit margins of the year.

I Give The Gaming Industry's Sense Of Priorities Two Thumbs Way Up

Hades Gives The Gaming Industry’s Sense Of Priorities Two Engulfed Thumbs Way Up

I suppose, I may still be failing to articulate this subject properly. I may also have fallen whim to a previously observed flaw, in pondering a very simple idea that ends up taking me down a road far longer than I was expecting to travel. I’ll end this by saying the issue isn’t the 360 pixels of resolution difference in CoD, it’s about how video games have become big enough, where forces within the biggest companies involved, perpetuate corrupting policies in a brutally apparent fashion. They continue in degrading the gaming landscape and derailing efficient progress in new ideas, because it’s more profitable to do so.

At one point, when someone bitched or complained enough about something in gaming, anyone who wanted to use a straw man argument, or utilize a bullshit bully approach of “quit crying” about it, somehow was backed by a vague sense of the importance video games had. It’s bad enough people aren’t looking at a big enough picture with this CoD debate, and falling folly to the most shallow sense of injustice, when far bigger ones have allowed this small one to even exist.

Once upon a time, when someone was taking a problem in gaming too seriously, someone would chime in with “It’s just a game”.

Yeah, well, “Just a Game” is now making a billion dollars.

~Pashford

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

