Power Of Rediscovery

Hey Gamers,

My, how the times have changed.

Back in my day, we use to have monkey team deathmatches in my first person shooters!

Back in my day, we use to have monkey team deathmatches in my first person shooters!

Of course, there’s always hope we may be able to relive the past once again.

That may be my underlying love of Kickstarter, in that the service seems largely incorruptable. Not to say there aren’t outliers that put into legitimacy the services honesty, but they are far and few between. While politics popularity contests may muddle the point, in trying to get exposure to the smaller guys out there, most projects that are something, will be something, through the power of our wallets alone.

TimeSplitters reminds me of why I’m normally okay with an electoral system based around money, when it’s the money of the people at the ballet box, and not those who own them. TimeSplitters definitely deserves to see the light of day again, through whatever means necessary.

In my opinion, you can’t put a price on monkey blood lust.

Though the Kickstarter will likely ask for a minimum donation of $4.99.

Though the Kickstarter will likely ask for a minimum donation of $4.99.

While I have played TimeSplitters 2 in recent days (last summer), I did realize around a similar time that, it’s quite beneficial to just wait until a re-release to enjoy the title once more. I may be bias here, as most of what I do must be topical, for public consumption sake.

This does not prevent me from encouraging anyone, at any moment, to whip out a SNES and play the shit out of Chrono Trigger. I merely suggest, that while not everyone has to be topical, sometimes, waiting to replay an older title, will gain benefit from a new make over and ultimately a big surprise.

Sometimes, a surprise that is right around the corner.

Like, right around the corner.

Like, right around the corner.

A pleasant surprise that Shadow of the Colossus, will be free for PS+ members in a days time. I’m imagining most fans still have a copy and a PS2 at the ready, and another chunk of you even picked up the HD copy, bundled with ICO on the PS3. Free Colossi is something the game isn’t short of, and apparently, is not something Sony is in short supply of either.

Definitely not generosity that should be degraded or ignored, however, and continues to reinforce the value of the PS+, and my sentiments about biding your time for the replay. I love the title enough, just showing my devotion by getting the title a third time, will hopefully send the right messages of what is worth my time to the men responsible for such quality.

I know I’m so devout, I buy every copy of a game I think worthy of the double dip treatment. This may also be a byproduct of being a Zelda fan, as I was forced to sign a waiver when I joined the Zelda Fan Club, to buy every game in the series at least 7 times.

I now have enough copies of the original Zelda to successfully make a necklace out of.

I now have enough copies of the original Zelda to successfully make a necklace out of.

The power of rediscovery, can be just as potent as the initial surprise. I’m refreshed to be reminded, that gaming has a long enough history, I can go an entire decade without playing a game I hold dear in my heart. Let us hope, that no matter how far we go, we never forget where we’ve come from.

Or where we may eventually go back to.

Or where we may eventually go back to.

~Pashford

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

