Grim Reality

Hey Gamers,

With information so readily available about upcoming video games, it’s pretty easy to get mass info dumps on any title, long before it’s even launched. I for one, am weary about how much I learn before the game comes out, full well knowing how much I love surprises.

Though not all surprises are pleasant.

Though I don’t love all surprises.

The next gen is fast approaching, and I feel rest assured there is a great deal more I could learn about both the Xbox One and PS4. This thought in turn leads me to believe their are plenty of surprises in store on either system, leaving me eager to see what little secrets they really hide.

Perhaps the same could be said of all game platforms...

Perhaps the same could be said of all game platforms…

Each new game console, represents a very real investment, and pieces of technology I will  spend the better part of the next decade with. As with most tech, I would actually warn against picking them up day one, for a number of reasons. The expense, early tech problems, and lack of library are always real issues when consoles first launch. I do believe day one purchases for game systems, are really left to the enthusiasts and the idle fumblings of the rich.

And how rarely those two groups of people actually intertwine.

When it does happen, however, hilarity is soon to follow.

When it does happen, however, hilarity is soon to follow.

While I have launch games I have my eyes on, I’d have to pin point Dead Rising 3 as my first go to, despite the PS4 being my first go to. This is an obvious contradiction with the most basic of video game facts in mind, and quickly reveals why both systems are relevant to my interests. I’m definitely sad to have seen Keiji Inafune leave Capcom, least of which involves the fate of Dead Rising. It seems the man is doing well despite this, which touches my gaming heart.

Dead Rising 3  seems to be doing well despite his absence, which also touches my gaming heart.

In a slightly different manner of course.

In a slightly different manner of course.

The E3 showing of Dead Rising 3, left me a little concerned. The game resembled the likes of a too gray, too brown Quake inspired realistic fuck fest, something most shooters have adopted now a days. Not that I mean to bring shame to the name of Quake, it’s just unfortunate developers ripped off the games aesthetic so relentlessly, without ripping off the same quality of game play. In any case, as more info rolled out on Dead Rising 3, the game seemed to have it’s signature humor intact, with ridiculous weapons and over the top costumes close at the ready.

Always money in the banana hammock.

Always money in the banana hammock.

I knew the world was going to be sizable and very custom tailored, but I had no idea to what extent. I may be excited for the next gen, but I am not a fool enough to believe every single zombie will be different than the last. To believe such a claim would be almost too eager on my part. I appreciate the intention behind the claim, and even if (likely) untrue, the effort to make it as true as possible will still add a lot of flavor to San Perditos, when I finally get my hands on Dead Rising 3.

Will DR3 be a killer app? Perhaps not, though I do believe the game will likely be one of the strongest on day one. When I think killer app, I think a title that comes out of nowhere, and is usually completely original in execution. While Dead Rising 3 will have both killings and executions, I do not believe it will be the master of either domain, or a tempting enough game, to contradict the weighty $500 price tag.

The face gamers collectively made, when they realized Microsoft was not going to release an Xbox One bundle, without the Kinect.

The face gamers collectively made, when they realized Microsoft was not going to release an Xbox One bundle, without the Kinect.

It remains unclear, in absolute certainty, what turns gamers off most about the Xbox One more, the higher price tag, or the complete indifference to the Kinect. We can not overlook that both are connected in this observation, which may be the problem to begin with.

~Pashford

Leave a comment

Filed under News Nonsense

Leave a Reply

