Half The Battle

Hey Gamers,

Anyone frequenting ATE recently, should have noticed what a roll I’ve been on in the past couple days.

Picture Slightly Related.

Picture Slightly Related.

So aside from Half Life 3 non-sense, and the observed efforts of one Super Mario, my gaze continues to pierce into the deepest recesses of gaming, seeking out my next greatest adventure. Normally, I don’t have to look to far, nor do I even really have to try. Video games seem to just fall into my lap now a days, and with direct news in my inbox about any game ever, I almost have to go out of my way not to hear about the newest video games.

Not to say a few of them don't sneak up on me from time to time.

Not to discount the ones that sneak up on me from time to time.

That’s the pain of being a game journalist I suppose, at least a part time one. I’ve encountered an odd dilemma, where I’ll know more about a game, through press releases and previews, than someone who’s actually played it. This type of second hand knowledge isn’t ideal, and is in fact something I’ve warned against in the past. The “Wiki Experts” of our world have read too much, and experienced too little, creating a sense of disillusionment of perception. Video games have such a profound “sense” to them, getting your hands on one is really the only way to really “know”, a certain type of first hand experience that a book just can’t give you through words alone.

*Most Books.

*Most Books.

That might be where the process breaks down for many, the sense of thought and effort going into a hobby or desired past time. Very quickly, the field of expertise is divided, from the posers, to the weekend warriors, the decided and the devout. How one approaches their favorite obsession, or in some cases preferred distraction, can say a lot about that person.

I always encourage never resting your laurels, and always accepting wisdom as if the supply is endless. This expectation is unrealistic to apply to everyone of course, but at least appreciate participation at a base level. Video Gaming has grown to the point where we can have all kinds of people participating, which in turn leads to knowing more. Gaming has become so big, the vast landscape accommodates a great many, such as, casuals, hardcore, mid-core, indies, AAA enthusiasts, fanboys, elitists, collectors, modders, mobile players, purists, completionists, and even Facbookers in our vast world of games.

I guess I forgot Larpers, but I operate under the impression that to them, it's no longer a game.

I guess I forgot Larpers, but I operate under the impression that to them, it’s no longer playing.

I jest of course, as any single one of those titles is non-absolute, and should be left open to subjectivity and personal ownership. Divisiveness, while impossible to avoid, does reinforce negative stereotypes, and in-fighting for the denizens that belong to the Great Grand Beyond Of Nerd Kingdom. I still maintain having a sense of humor is important of course, and is likely something the Facebookers could give us pointers on.

They'd have to know how funny it is, right?

They have to know how funny it is, right?

I kid again, and apologize for sending mixed messages like the despondent asshole I really am. To reassure the audience being self aware and having a sense of humor is important, I remind all Facebookers, now, what I have done every day for the past fucking year of my life.

So fuck my hypocritical ass with the Big Goron Sword.

So fuck my hypocritical ass with Cloud’s Buster Sword.

I’ve derailed here, which is normally what happens when I start bringing Animal Crossing into the equation (The Ultimate Derailer). Gaming is BIG. Really BIG. You just won’t believe how vastly, hugely, mind bogglingly BIG it is. So, with my own personal failings of not always keeping up, and my mention of how gaming has become big enough for people with life views of all sorts to join in, I’m happy.

As mentioned, video games have such a profound “sense” to them, getting your hands on one is really the only way to “know”. I’m just very happy people are finally starting to “know” about video games, as the culture has been too exclusive for too long.

Labels are labels, and at the end of the day, there is no such thing as a “true gamer”, there are only more people who can “truly know” their games.

And knowing is half the battle.

Which is good, because the other half can be really fucking confusing.

Which is good, because the other half can be really fucking confusing.

~Pashford

Leave a comment

Filed under Active Time Event

Leave a Reply

