Quickie: Am I Evil?

Hey Gamers.

News seems to be unusually regular for this time of year, but as I’ve discussed in the recent past, E3 no longer represents the doomed conglomerate of relevant gaming information.

Or so I'm led to believe.

Or so I’m led to believe.

Among the hotter topics of discussion, Team Fortress 2, impossibly so, gets better, the announcement of a new Call of Duty game, and the Kinect still acting as the catalyst for disappointment.

Peter Molyneux, explaining to on lookers, the legitimate concern he had for developing on the Kinect.

Peter Molyneux, explaining to on lookers, the legitimate concern he had for developing on the Kinect.

Faux pas aside, some of the more interesting tid bits that caught my attention involved a spectrum of the  gaming gauntlet.

Picture not related.

Picture not related.

For starters, due to the constantly unintentional business spoiling practices of the ESRB, both GTA 1 and 2 have been rated for the PSN. This will translate into cross-platform play, making the titles available for the PSP and Vita as well. I’ve recalled several times being surprised in the wee hours of the morning, that certain iconic titles weren’t available for download on Sony’s online infrastructure. The first GTA seemed like an obvious inclusion to me.

Quick Pic History Lesson: Not the first GTA.

No, the other first one.

Next up, I come to find out one of my favorite video game music composers, Grant Kirkhope, is making the soundtrack for the upcoming re-make Castle of Illusion.

Looks Epic

For any of you not familiar with either, Castle of Illusion was a fan favorite platformer that released on Sega consoles in the retro era, and Grant was the man who is likely responsible for your favorite tunes in the late 90’s. He acted as Rare’s in-house composer, and handled most of their major game soundtracks, including Goldeneye, Banjo Kazooie, and Conker’s Bad Fur Day.

In fact, due to ever vigilant folks over at D-Toid, I was delighted to find out Grant had recently posted several of his best works, with a pay what you want incentive for all to enjoy. I love the OST’s so much, I’m more than happy remind Grant with my wallet, that he’s just one more reason I smiled as a gamer way back when.

I don't think any of us really knew what we were getting into.

I don’t think any of us really knew what we were getting into.

Lastly, and possible most excitedly, a teaser trailer for the new game The Evil Within has been released.

Commence the wetting!

As a long time fan of survival horror, I’m always on the hunt for some good old fashioned gut wrenching. The Evil Within represents a collaboration between two gaming greats: Bethesda Softworks and Shinji Mikami.

You might know Bethesda Softworks for some of their other work…

ATE Oblivion

 And again, you may be ever so slightly familiar with Shinji Mikami’s past dealings….

ATE RPD

…and they’re having a baby!

How unsettling the birth may actually be.

How unsettling the birth may actually be.

I for one can’t wait to see what the two do together, as they represent some of my fondest memories as a gamer. I’ve written love letters in the past to the older RE titles, and my hundreds of hours sunk into the Elder Scrolls series speak for themselves (and me…now). I’m sure we’ll get a better glimpse at The Evil Within this E3, and I’ll be sure to keep you guys posted as the news rolls in.

Well, that about wraps it up for my time this day. Join me next time, where we may discuss further the merits of being a talking bear, how tiring it would be to carry around thousands of bullets on you at any given time, or how scary bursting forth from a Rhino’s asshole would actually be.

Happy Gaming,
Pashford

Leave a comment

Filed under News Nonsense

Leave a Reply

