Stay Frosty

Hey Gamers

At times like these, I’m very glad gaming is a regular indoor activity. The conditions at my current location are, to articulate my thoughts in more modern colloquialisms, pretty shitty.

Not this shitty.

Not this shitty.


Fear not! While the weather my halt my better sense of external activity, my brain searches for something comparable, in a realm I’m more comfortable with. I turn to the wide world of gaming to present me with warmer pastures. I’ve partly failed in this regard, as my focus on gaming, brings me once again to colder territories. Capcom has recently released some new tidbits about Lost Planet 3, a series not foreign to almighty chills, or great mighty poos.

And the gargantuan bastards that create them

And the bastard bugs that shit them.

Seems as if the series is awakening from what seems like a much too long hibernation, and will be bursting forth with the third installment on June 25th.

Among some of the boasts Capcom is making, LP3 is promised to possess, dynamic battle fields with always changing climates, a return of a fully fledged mulitplayer, and a main hero named Jim.

Picture possibly related.

Picture possibly related.

The game looks to be using The Unreal Engine 3, needless to say, the game’s looking pretty good.

A nice blend of lighting and environmental effects, almost distracts you from all of the gigantic bug ass you'll be stomping in this bad boy.

A nice blend of lighting and environmental effects, almost distracts you from all of the gigantic bug ass you’ll be stomping in this bad boy.

In a place like this, you might be asking yourself...is it gonna be another bug hunt?

In a place like this, you might be asking yourself…is it gonna be another bug hunt?

..Yup...it's a bug hunt.

Yup…it’s a bug hunt.

The game will have both first person and third person elements, and boast some vehicle combat, as seen in these screenshots. Anyone who found the first two titles reliable in the intense conditions and difficulty they provided, you should feel right at home. I put a lot of time in the first LP, and enjoyed what I played of the second. The odd sense of survival the title created, in forcing you to keep moving and finding more energy to stay warm, was a novel experience in suspense, to be sure.

I suppose we have Resident Evil 4 to thank for all of this, as the game’s massive success was adopted directly, or has inspired a countless number of other great series.

To

To

Name

Name

A

A

Few

Few

Ironically, the only series RE4 didn’t help to inspire after the game’s initial launch…

Was it's own.

Was it’s own.

In any case, LP3 has me interested, as so very few Capcom franchises do in this day and age. While some of these pre-screens and info help to whet my appetite, I’ll consider all of this an hors d’oeuvre till the E3 showing. Here’s hoping the frigid conditions of Lost Planet 3, will lead us to some warm feelings of gaming greatness.

Stay Frosty, Gamers.

Leave a comment

Filed under News Nonsense

Leave a Reply

