Seeing Some Stars

Following my post from yesterday, I fight through my resistance of wanting to play games, and instead, write about them. I constantly rotate my gaming stock, so I’m covering all my bases, and I’m currently blasting my way through PlayStation All Stars on the Vita.

I downloaded the PS3 version of the game, and got a free copy on my handheld, which is incredible incentive for weary adopters. When addressing issues of value, it’s important to remind the user of what they’re earning, rather than what the company is trying to get rid of.

The Sega Love Or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Add On.

The Sega Love Or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Add On.

Putting aside the forward thinking displayed by Sony in this regard, the game itself is a great representation of what many have done before them. Basically, give the fans the pen and paper, and let them write a love letter. Old School Twisted Metal fan with a grudge? Check. Want to reiterate your action hero favoritism with Kratos boot to Dante’s ass? Got you covered. Want to get all femme chic on Nathan Drake, and remind him of who was raiding tombs first? Well…we don’t always get what we want, and are often faced with rhetorical truths.

Do you want the mustache on or off?

Do you want the mustache on or off?

The basic context of fighters easily gives way to a seamlessness of appeal. As long as you provide a level playing field, any fun details of fan desire  are easy to mix in. That’s why games like Street Fighter and Smash Brothers have always worked so well. You build this culture and loyalty within the interested base, and the game will basically make itself. The developer often needs only act as the catalyst, and the fans will provide the fuel for all future fires.

Sonic’s Pro Tip: Not all fire’s are good.

Sonic’s Pro Tip: Not all fire’s are good.

Not as if any company should encourage pyromania in this regard. All Stars definitely excels because of how many aspects of Sony’s charming history is showcased, but quality is not sacrificed. Like many good fighters before it, the button mashing entry level stuff exists, to help coerce those who wish nothing more than to show everyone who’s the Big Daddy. Once done submerging yourself in bloated bias, you may retain interest, and familiarize yourself in the game mechanics, and get to the real nitty gritty. The kind of truth, that while grotesque, and involving infinite combos incomprehensible to other players, wins games. The filthy truth of fighters that deep down, you don’t talk about at parties.

You want me on that wall, You need me on that wall.

You want me on that wall, You need me on that wall.

All of this pretense is a symbol of time and energy well spent by the dev team (SuperBot Enertainment). All Stars has just that proper mix of subtle potency that makes any fighter a system main stay. I’m loving the fact that there doesn’t seem to be any glaringly obvious differences between the PS3 and Vita versions. The ability to play as I go only strengthens my resolve and loyalty in All Stars, and reminds me of why I steer clear of any type of fanboyism. This destructive subjectivity is costly, and often only has you fighting against one other impossible opponent.

Yourself.

Yourself.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

